Home page

Next page

HISTORIC ST. MARY'S CITY, MARYLAND www.stmaryscity.org

Entering the Potomac River, you go past Point Lookout Lighthouse.  Not far from the point, St. Mary's River forks off to the right and goes up about five miles to St. Mary's College and Historic St. Mary's City.  The College has docks where cruisers may tie up their dinghies and explore ashore. 

Historic St. Mary's City is the site of the fourth permanent settlement in the new world.  It was established as Maryland's first capital in 1634 and functioned as such until the capital was moved to Annapolis in 1695.  Now, the site is a National Historic Landmark and one of the country's best-preserved colonial archaeological digs.  Some of the structures have already been recreated as the 1676 State House, below.  The work goes on, albeit slowly, with traditional tools according to early practices.  The Brick Chapel of 1667 is currently being re-created.  Check out the details on their website.

In 1934, a re-creation of the 1676 State House was built to commemorate the 300th anniversary of Maryland's founding.  It was located a short distance from the original site which was in the nearby Trinity Churchyard.  See the church, to right

In 1649, the first law establishing freedom of religion was enacted here.  A plaque was placed on the building on Law Day 1965 to keep alive the memory of that act.

Enlarged, the coat of arms mounted on the wall behind the railing, above left.
The center crest ultimately became the flag of the State of Maryland.

Interior of Dove

Portrait of one of the Calverts, the  Lord Baltimores, Governors of Maryland
Governor of Maryland

Facial reconstruction of Anne Wolseley Calvert

Lead coffin of Phillip Calvert, Chancellor  of Maryland, and his wife.  He died in late  1682 or early 1683.   Calvert was a prominent Maryland leader, instrumental in the development of St. Mary's.  These are the earliest-known lead coffins in British North America.

Next page